Recreation Commission

Mission Statement

To provide a wide range of recreational programs and activities through the utilization of tax dollars and self-support.

About the Commission

The Recreation Commission is a nine-member committee comprised of South Hadley residents that have an interest in promoting recreation in town. The members of the commission are appointed by the Selectboard and serve a three-year term.


The Recreation Commission's main purpose is to oversee the Recreation Department's activities. They make policy, suggest various programming options, create and enforce rules and regulations, and work closely with the Recreation Director. The main function of the Recreation Department is to provide youth sports activities. Others include adult sports, fitness classes, summer programs, bus trips, special events such as the July 4th Fireworks Celebration and working with the Department of Public Works (DPW)/Parks Department to improve various recreational facilities in the community.


The Recreation Commission typically meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in the Recreation Department office. This date/time is subject to change depending on the month's activities and availability of the commission so please check the Recreation Calendar and Agendas and Minutes page for the meeting date/time.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

View the Public Records Request Page

Polices/Procedures (PDF)

  1. Kirsten Britton

    Term Expires:  2025

  1. Patrick Dawson

    Term Expires: 2024

  1. Ray Carillon


    Term Expires:  2023

  1. Laura Friesner

    Term expires:  2025

  1. Byron Joy

    Term Expires: 2024

  1. Ryan Kennedy

    Term Expires: 2024

  1. David Mendoza

    Term Expires: 2025

  1. Ben Sabbs


    Term expires:  2025

  1. Kathleen Sharkey

    Term expires:  2023