Continuing the uniquely New England tradition of participatory government, South Hadley maintains a Representative Town Meeting form of government. Its legislative body, Town Meeting, consists of 120 elected members (24 from each precinct for 3-year terms). A 5-member Selectboard (also elected for 3-year terms) provides the Administrative governance with an appointed Town Administrator. You can view the organizational chart.

Members of Town Meeting hold their Annual Meeting on the 2nd Saturday of May and Special Meetings as called by the Selectboard. The Town Budget and the Town Bylaws (General and Zoning) must be approved and adopted by Town Meeting.

South Hadley also has other independent elected boards and officials which provide governance/administrative oversight over specific functions of the town.

Among these independent boards and officials are: